Jaysun's Journal

Independent Baptist

Does Jesus Really Have Nail Pierced Hands?


Does Jesus Really Have Nail Pierced Hands?


As a Christian, I accept the Bible as true and without question.  As a human, however, I am prone to allow non-biblical ideas creep in as well.  Unfortunately, this can be just as bad as denying the Bible.  The fact is, the devil does not care if we read the Bible as long as we let him interpret it for us.  That being said, I am going to tell you about a misconception I held for a while regarding the crucifixion of Christ.

For years I had been under the impression that Jesus was nailed to the cross thru His wrists and not His hands.   After hearing several different preachers give an account of the crucifixion I accepted their reasons without really thinking about it (the devil is so subtle).  They say that your delicate hands would be ripped apart if hung by a tiny nail.

But Christians who read their Bible immediately encounter a problem with the nails-through-the-wrists scenario.  They remember how Thomas refused to believe that Jesus had risen from the dead.  He said, “Except I shall see in his hands the print of the nails…I will not believe.” (John 20:25)   Thomas expected to see a nail print in Jesus’ hands – not His wrists.   Not long after Thomas made that remark, Jesus showed up: “Then saith he to Thomas, Reach hither thy finger, and behold my hands; and reach hither thy hand, and thrust it into my side: and be not faithless, but believing.” (John 20:27)

The fact that the Bible says “hands” should be enough to convince us that Jesus really did have nails driven through His hands.  But we are gullible people and the devil has more than one trick up his sleeve.  I have heard preachers go so far as to say, “In Greek, the word for “hand” includes the wrist and much of the forearm.”  Whether or not this is true I do not know.  I do know, however, that the Old Testament was primarily written in Hebrew.  And Psalm 22:16, being an Old Testament prophecy concerning Christ says, “…they pierced my hands and my feet.”

I suppose I am criticizing preachers who teach the nails were driven thru Christ’s wrists, but only mildly.  Perhaps they do so out of ignorance.  As stated before, I had been under this mistaken impression myself.  But a few years ago I was watching an episode of the Discovery Channel (or National Geographic or something…) where they unearthed the remains of a crucifixion victim.   Strangely enough, this guy was still attached to his cross.  What got my attention was that each “hand” was nailed using a piece of wood as a washer.  The combination, for lack of a better word, “stapled” the poor guy to the cross.  I thought to myself, “Wow, the Discovery Channel actually taught me something useful!”

Another point worth pondering was made by another gentleman on the internet.  I have provided his web address below, since I do not know how to cite the author correctly.  He says,

The conjunctive tissue of the body of humans and animals is stronger than a rope… It is not true that Christ was pierced from the wrists.  This lie was introduced into Christianity by its enemies, especially by the Russellites…

You may think that your delicate hands would be ripped apart if they were hung.  What you need to remember is that Christ’s hands were carpenter hands [I like that!].  Today, you can get an idea about how strong Christ hands were by looking at the hands of any 33 year old carpenter who has been in building houses since he was a teenager.

Hey, you may think the whole issue is a minor thing but “a little leaven leaveneth the whole lump…” (1Cor 5:6)  Has the devil made you swallow a lie lately?  If you think you’re beyond being duped by the devil then you’ve already been had.  Ask God to search you and try you and see if there be any wicked way in you.  If you purpose in your heart to deal with it ahead of time, I believe the Lord will show you.

Jason Elder

http://www.bibleserralta.com/JesusNailedByHisHands.html

November 19, 2008 - Posted by | Bible, God, Jesus, Religion | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 Comments »

  1. Thank you for the good writeup. It in fact was a amusement account it.

    Look advanced to more added agreeable from you! By the way,
    how can we communicate?

    Comment by interesting facts about new york | April 26, 2013 | Reply

  2. Hmm it looks like your blog ate my first comment (it was super long) so I guess I’ll just sum it up what I submitted and say, I’m thoroughly enjoying your blog.
    I too am an aspiring blog blogger but I’m still new to everything. Do you have any tips for inexperienced blog writers? I’d
    genuinely appreciate it.

    Comment by text message flirting | May 15, 2013 | Reply

  3. When I originally commented I clicked the “Notify me when new comments are added” checkbox and now
    each time a comment is added I get three emails with
    the same comment. Is there any way you can remove me from
    that service? Thanks!

    Comment by lower back pain kidney | July 3, 2013 | Reply

  4. Good way of describing, and fastidious post to get facts concerning my presentation
    topic, which i am going to deliver in institution of higher education.

    Comment by Jonnie | September 27, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

